A little out of practice

Posted on May 14, 2009

3


Well, it ain’t like riding a bicycle. The one or two of you, besides PDA and my girlfriend, who read this thing regularly may have noted that I haven’t posted in a while. What can I say; life got away from me. The lung, the school, fixing the back brake on my bike…who can keep up. What makes it hardest to get back on the horse or bike seat [for the PETA folks] is the unspoken commitment one makes every time one posts TO KEEP POSTING! Can’t I just do it now and again, twice a year, whether I need it or not?

In any case, here’s a  little scene at the Senate Hearings on Torture this week. Senator Lindsay Graham gets caught trying to pull a Jedi mind trick on Ali Soufan. Soufan, the FBI interrogator who claims he got Abu Zubaydah to talk months before the CIA’s torture regime using only sanctioned FBI methods, rightly outs Graham’s reliance on Jon John Kiriakou [a name Graham can’t seem to pronounce] who retracted his statement weeks ago. There’s also this great exchange:

Lindsay: One of the reasons these techniques have survived for about five hundred years is apparently they work

Soufan: Because sir, there’s a lot of people who don’t know how to interrogate and its easier to hit somebody than outsmart them.

As Lindsay learned first hand.

Posted in: Uncategorized