And Even More Tragedy…

Posted on August 20, 2010

7


From a New York Times article, In Iraq War, Soldiers Say They Had a Job to Do today:

“The way I look at it, it’s my job,” [Staff Sgt. Trevino D. Lewis] said, recounting and dismissing the shifting rationales for the war, from the weapons of mass destruction that did not exist to the overthrow of Saddam Hussein to the establishment of democracy in the Arab world. “It’s my career.”

“Do I think the kids running around here have a better future?” Sergeant Trammell said one evening in Camp Karbala, just outside the holy Shiite city of the same name

“To be honest, I don’t really care,” he said.As a nation, was it the right thing to do? In the end of the day, when I look back on it, I haven’t lost a soldier in my squad. That’s what’s important to me.”

Sergeant Schirmer [said]
“I want a normal life,” he said, “enjoy the things Iraq has paid for.”

You know, thanks to these assholes we’re going to be doing this forever, right? You know that your kids and their friends, and their husbands and wives and girlfriends and children are going to be fighting our next commuter wars, probably via drone while gaining 50 to 100 pounds at the PX food court , thanks to couldn’t-learn-a-lesson-in-a-bear-trap mercenaries like this? They’re going to be blowing wedding parties to bits by accident, and coming home with PTSD from playing the equivalent of a multi player role-playing game all day. And everything we ever do and accomplish will have that disgusting bitter flavor to it, because our tax dollars pay these people to kill other people for us while we try to live our lives as if it’s not important, and only something that shrill, annoying people wearing pink bother to get mad about.

Yay, our veterans are awesome.

Posted in: Uncategorized